• AdVenture
  • Posts
  • Why Replying to Ad Comments Is An Absolute Must

Why Replying to Ad Comments Is An Absolute Must

If You Don't Your Ad Performance Will Suffer

Hey there! 👋

Writing this on a Sunday morning. Up early and prepping for the marathon today, carb'd up, engines ready! I ran half a marathon last week but my knee gave out. I hope my knee holds strong today and can finish that 42K 🏃‍♂️

This week's topic might be one of the most important ones to anyone running ads. It's about replying to your ad comments.

In cases like this, I return to placing myself in the user's position. When you see an ad, what do you do? Well, I do go to the comments right away and if there are no comments it's kinda suss.

So this goes all the way back to creating the ads. As a media buyer, agency or marketing team member managing the ads you need to be using post IDs in order to stack social proof. There are two ways around it:

  1. Test using Dynamic creatives and extract the post ID from the dynamic creative

  2. Have a separate campaign that contains all your original ads in which you build all of your ads and take the post ID and move them to your active campaign.

Both work, but method 2 will require more effort as a dynamic creative is easier to set up.

After that, we like to advise our clients to monitor their comments and reply to every single one of them. But not all comments seem so easy to reply to, yeah I hear you. But, you don't necessarily have to reply reply to them if you get what I mean, sometimes replying with a single emoji does the job as well. 

But do I have to find and search every comment? Well no! I have a very good way to monitor all Facebook and Instagram comments. Simply go here: https://business.facebook.com/latest/inbox/all and you'll see all Facebook and Instagram comments so you can go through them once a day.

On TikTok it's much easier, there is a specific section that contains all ad comments. You can find it under assets as shown below

Not all comments are nice. We are often surprised by what the average Facebook user does with its time as they seem to be hatin 24/7. Well, it is what it is, but what can you do about it? Very, very simple. I like to follow the framework: HBD, which stands for Hide, Block, Delete. You hide the comment, you block the person (only if it's really needed) and you delete the comment. 

Having a negative comment section can seriously impact your performance, so you need to do some work to clean it up. 

I know this sounds like a full-time job, but the good part is that your customer service team can easily take care of this with the right SOP. If you follow the above guidelines I am sure it won't take them more than 30 minutes each day, depending on the amount of money you are spending on Facebook and TikTok of course.

That's it, simple and sweet but I think this one is very valuable to anyone running Facebook and TikTok ads looking for a way to improve performance without any crazy extra efforts.

Most Valuable Piece of Content

Every week I want to share a piece of content I've found valuable and learned a lot from. 

Ron and Ash dropped another banger on their Chew On This Podcast. If you're wanting to go into retail then the below episode is a must-watch!

I've been using Foreplay for months now, and I can honestly say it's one of the best value-for-money tools for any eCommerce brand, agency owner or anyone that runs paid media. It allows you to save ads from TikTok's and Facebook's ads library and keep them forever in your inspiration boards!

That's a wrap!

I really enjoyed writing this week's newsletter and think it can bring a ton of value to any eCommerce business to scale. Are you looking to scale? We're growing our team and have the capacity to take on 2 more brands for Q2 and help them scale with our high-converting creative output system and our advertising methods that have driven $20M+ in online sales.

Interested? Book a call here. (You must already be spending at least 5K a month on ads to qualify)

See you next week at 7 PM CEST.

All the best,

Dennis 💚

P.S. On Twitter? Follow me here for daily value bombs about eCommerce and DTC!