• AdVenture
  • Posts
  • Ad Breakdown Episode 1: The Boner Cactus

Ad Breakdown Episode 1: The Boner Cactus

This One Goes Hard

Hey there! 👋

Hope you're enjoying your Sunday and had some time to touch grass this weekend as per the DTC Twitter recommendations. I spent some time pre-loading some work on Saturday as I'm making a trip soon where I will be limited in my work.

Today Meta had some serious delivery issues that caused some overspending on a few of our accounts. They basically spent all their budget in a matter of hours, especially our cost- and bid cap campaigns. I hope you didn't experience a lot of inconveniences. Definitely speak to support or your rep for a refund.

This week I am doing something new. I will be breaking down an ad to show you what is good about it, what sucks and what you can do to make better ads and learn from the best advertisers out there.

This week it's Hims with a very interesting static:

Honestly, this ad ticks so many boxes.

  1. It uses humor

  2. It tackles a problem many men face

  3. It shows it in a fun/eye-catching way

  4. The text is super clear and easy to read with multiple different font styles.

The angle:

It tackles multiple points:

  1. Finishing too quick

  2. Not staying hard the desired time

  3. Trusted solutions backed by doctors

These 3 are on point and should convince a man facing any of the issues they're targeting to click through.

What I think really makes the ad stand out is its humor. It grabs the eye with the cactus and upon seeing it for the first time myself, it would be something I'd at least read the comments for.

The ad copy

  1. Builds trust

  2. Clever wordplay

  3. Great offer: start FREE

10/10

Headline + Description:

Doctor-trusted solutions for ED, sexual endurance, and more.Get Your Online Doctor Visit for FREE!

Very to the point, just like the body copy and fits perfectly.

All in all this ad is great and makes me laugh, I am sure in the backend this ad is doing great and is carrying a great CTR + CVR.

Short and sweet one this week but I think this is really valuable for anyone looking to make better ads to break an ad down by its individual parts and understand the logic behind it all.

Most Valuable Piece of Content

Every week I want to share a piece of content I've found valuable and learned a lot from.

I'm a big fan of Andy Frisella and his take on business, mindset and overall life. He shared his take on AI. Quite an interesting topic and I must say I do agree with him

I've been using Foreplay for months now, and I can honestly say it's one of the best value-for-money tools for any eCommerce brand, agency owner or anyone that runs paid media. It allows you to save ads from TikTok's and Facebook's ads library and keep them forever in your inspiration boards!

That's a wrap!

I really enjoyed writing this week's newsletter and think it can bring a ton of value to any eCommerce business to scale.

See you next week at 7 PM CEST.

All the best,

Dennis 💚

P.S. On Twitter? Follow me here for daily value bombs about eCommerce and DTC!